Sheila Barry-Oliver, Ed.D.


BPW Member since 1979

In 2007 Sheila moved to Florida from Northern Virginia. Subsequently she retired after 28 years in information technology and management consulting and 13 years in higher education. Sheila is most passionate about workplace equity for women. Sheila has served as President of BPW/Virginia and Chair of the Board of Trustees of BPW/USA Foundation. In addition to her many BPW activities, she is on the board of Girls Inc of Pinellas and on the George Washington University National Council on Education and Development. Sheila has a BA in mathematics, an MBA and a doctorate in human resource development.

Jane Byers


BPW Member since 2006

Jane is the President of Perfect Copy and Print, a printing and graphic design company. She has an MBA with a concentration in Business and Finance. She teaches soccer at all levels from the Olympic Development Program to TOPSoccer (The Outreach Program for Soccer; is a community-based training and team placement program for young athletes with disabilities). She is an advocate for the LGBTQ community by serving as the secretary of Tampa Bay Diversity Chamber of Commerce and committee for Come Out St Pete; fosters and transports dogs for Newfoundland Club of Florida; and sponsors and volunteers for organizations such as Celma Mastry Ovarian Cancer Foundation, Beach Goes Pops, and Lives Under Construction.



Tiki Hall Bates


BPW Member since 2014

Tiki is a 5th generation Floridian with over 22 years experience in the Funeral Industry. She has a Master’s degree in business, undergraduate degrees in both marketing and business, and a funeral arts certificate. This extensive background combined with her insight that this male dominated industry was in need of a female touch turned into her business. In 2010 she began providing cremation services without the traditional funeral home experience or expense. Her life revolves around her pets, both furry and feathered, but for fun she likes to be outside and in 2015 was recognized with a gold seal for a Florida Friendly Landscape. She also volunteers for various organizations including the Pinellas County Extension Services and animal rescues.

Diane Dewey


BPW Member since 2011

Diane moved to St. Petersburg from Stamford, Connecticut in 2010.  Adapting to Florida and a new environment allowed Diane to revisit her dream of becoming a writer, which has become a reality through the vital arts organizations here.  Diane completed undergraduate studies, Honors Program, at Villanova University and graduated with a Master’s Degree in Mental Health Counseling from Capella University. In between, she worked at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and the National Academy, also in New York, then at her art appraisal business, The Realization of Art. Writing coursework includes New York University School of Continuing Studies, Eckerd College Olli, Eckerd Writer’s Conference, Keep St. Pete Lit workshops and seminars worldwide. Diane’s essays have appeared in the online art magazine, Artes and her book is in gestation.

Amy Dinovo


BPW Member since 2005

Amy, a resident of St. Pete since her father was stationed at MacDill AFB in 1976, she has been involved with technology since getting her first computer at age 8 in 1980. Her company, Let Amy Handle It, combines her tech background and 14 years as a licensed Realtor to allow her clients to spend more time on relationships and less time on paperwork, follow up and behind the scenes legwork to create smooth and successful real estate transactions. Webmistress of BPW St. Petersburg – Pinellas since 2005, Amy brings a unique set of skills to help make our local organization run.

Tami Simms


BPW Member since 1997

Tami Simms has been in the business of organization, marketing and graphic design since starting her first business in 1993. She left the freelance world in January 2002 to join her mother’s real estate practice, which has now evolved into The Simms Team at Coastal Properties Group International, a boutique brokerage located in downtown St. Petersburg. She is a national speaker within the real estate industry, and Lead Trainer for the Institute for Luxury Home Marketing.

Tami is thoroughly engaged in the community, serving in numerous non-profit and volunteer leadership roles on local, state and national levels. She is serving a fourth term as President of the St. Petersburg Downtown Business Association, is currently Treasurer and a founding director of the Downtown Waterfront Parks Foundation, Treasurer for the Queens Court, Inc., President of the BPW/FL Education Foundation, a board member for the Suncoast Tiger Bay Club, and is an inaugural member of the Tampa Bay Public Leadership Institute.

Standing Committee Chairs

Finance: Kristin Smith
Individual Development: Open
Legislation: Jerri Evans
Membership: Tiki Bates
Philanthropy: Lily Alcott
Public Relations: Open
Young Careerist: Open

Special / Ad Hoc Committee Chairs

Equality Day Tea: Lily Alcott
Equal Pay Day: Kristin Smith
Bylaws: Tami Simms
Technology: Amy Dinovo


BPW/St. Petersburg-Pinellas Presidents

BPW leaders stand on the shoulders of the women who have gone before them. The following women have served as President of our local organization (LO) since its founding in 1966. We thank them for their leadership, wisdom and commitment to BPW’s mission.

1966-1967    Erma Hallett Jaeckle
1967-1968    Charlot Segars Buchanan
1968-1969    Alsace Kenestrick
1969-1970    Margaret Hays & Maxine Siciliano Martin
1970-1971    Erma Hallett Jaeckle
1971-1972    Ruth Jacobs
1972-1973    Constance “Connie” Passmore
1973-1974    Gertrude Sumner
1974-1975    Louise Watson
1975-1976    Marguerite Dawson
1976-1977    Vesta Bishop
1977-1978    Iris Yilmaz & Connie Passmore
1978-1979    Irma Marlis
1979-1980    Peggy Barger
1980-1981    Florence Ianniello
1981-1982    Florence Ianniello & Edna Jones
1982-1983    Alma Dishman

1983-1984    Louise Watson & Martha McLay
1984-1985    Edna Jones
1985-1986    Sally (McCrary) Kamrada
1986-1987    Janelle (Barlas) Quinn
1987-1988    Barbara (B. J.) Munch
1988-1989    Shirley Schmelzinger
1989-1990    Marlene Hacker
1990-1991    Sheri (Buddin) Ellis
1991-1992    Sandra Holt
1992-1993    Karen S. Keaton
1993-1994    Louise Miller
1994-1995    Carolyn Wiggins
1995-1996    Abbi Bliss
1996-1997    Dana Maley
1997-1998    Christine (Lippard) Weigle
1998-1999    Karey Lofton
1999-2000    Tami Simms-Powel
2000-2001   Dana Maley & Paula Popovich

2001-2002   Paula Popovich & Luisa Perez Harvey
2002-2003   Cory Adler-Leidersdorff
2003-2004   Lisa Munafo
2004-2005   Kristin (Guenthardt) Smith
2005-2006   Trish Conner
2006-2007   Rosemary Schrader
2007-2008   Kris Self
2008-2009   Carolyn Wiggins
2009-2010   Sheila Barry-Oliver
2010-2011   Cynthia Jenkins
2011-2012   Tami Simms
2012-2013   Cynthia Gramberg
2013-2014   Gretta Paige Bellas
2014-2015   Alizza Punzalan-Randle
2015-2016   Amy Dinovo
2016-2017   Jerri Evans
2017-2018   Liz Illgen