zz Young Careerist

oyp banner

BPW/St. Petersburg-Pinellas (SPP) is seeking nominations for its 2017-2018 Outstanding Young Professional. This program, based on the BPW/FL Young Careerist Program founded in 1964, recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of young women and men for their endeavors at bettering themselves and others—professionally, personally, and politically.

Participating young professionals would gain:

◊ Community recognition
◊ Resume enhancement
◊ Strengthened communication skills (both group and presentation)
◊ One year membership in BPW/FL at no charge
◊ Increased understanding of workplace gender equity

Nominees submit an application, resume, and essay. Finalists are selected on the basis of the submitted materials. Selection of the BPW/SPP 2017-2018 Outstanding Young Professional will occur on in Spring (April) from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at 400 Beach Seafood & Tap House, St. Petersburg. Finalists will interact, as a group, with three judges from 11:00 a.m.-12:00 noon, then deliver their prepared speeches during the membership lunch meeting (with typically 40 people in attendance) from 12:00 noon-1:00 p.m. Lunch is at no cost to the finalists.

BPW/SPP and BPW/FL have a long list of former participants who have gone on to rewarding, fulfilling careers, and have demonstrated themselves as outstanding leaders in their communities (see below and BPW/FL for listings of those individuals). Our hope is that the selected BPW/SPP Outstanding Young Professional would represent BPW/SPP at the BPW/FL State Conference. BPW/SPP provides funds to offset registration, lodging and most associated expenses.

To be eligible to participate, a nominee must:

♦ Be between the ages of 21 and 35 (inclusive by July 31st).

♦ Be, or have been employed, in business (includes self-employed) or the professions with at least one year of full-time work experience in her/his career area.

♦ Be living, working, training, or continuing education in the Tampa Bay area.

♦ Understand and support the BPW/FL mission, vision, and legislative platform.

All nominations must be received no later than Monday March 16 at oyp@bpwstpetepinellas.org; finalists will be notified by March 23. If you have any questions, please contact Committee Chair Sheila Barry-Oliver at oyp@bpwstpetepinellas.org.

Click the link below to download the application, legislative platform and speech questions.

[wpdm_package id=1094 template=”link-template-default.php”]

The Virginia Allan Young Careerist (YC) Program was founded in 1964 by BPW National President Virginia Allan in order to recognize the professional, personal and political achievements of young professional women and men.

Young Careerist ProgramParticipants, both BPW and prospective members, compete to represent BPW on the Local and State level by delivering a prepared 4-minute speech, interviewing with judges, and preparing a biographical statement and application.

This program recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of young women and men between the ages of 21 and 35 for their endeavors at bettering themselves and others, professionally, personally and politically. The Young Careerist Program is about mentoring, building self-esteem and confidence, giving recognition and acceptance,  and the celebration of all participants.

BPW/FL has a long list of former Young Careerist participants and representatives who, by their participation, have developed a greater sense of self-esteem, and have gone on to more rewarding and fulfilling careers and have demonstrated themselves as outstanding leaders in their communities.

Young Careerist Program Representative to State
(Formerly called the “Young Career Woman” )

[one_third]1976-1977 Nancy H. Thomas
1977-1978 Della Geissler Mays
1978-1979 Frances Johnson
1979-1980 Alma Dishman
1980-1981 Judy Kools
1981-1982 Lynnette McDougle
1982-1983 Sally McCrary
1983-1984 Kathy Huffman[/one_third]
[one_third]1984-1985 Kim Hiestand & Connie Burr
1985-1986 Joyce Kenfield
1986-1987 Jean Kenlan
1987-1988 Julia A. Hearn
1988-1989 Mary Ann Bowman
1990-1991 Kathryn Lancaster
1991-1992 Louise Scott
1993-1994 Jacqueline Josiota[/one_third]
[one_third_last]1994-1995 Karey Lofton
1995-1996 Samantha Chechele
1997-1998 Tami Simms-Powel
2001-2002 Alizza Punzalan
2003-2004 Lena Seyler
2011-2012 Taisha Hyatt
2012-2013 Pye Young
2014-2015 Kristina Alspaw[/one_third_last]